Monday, April 23, 2012

MLCS Webinar tomorrow

I'll be giving a webinar tomorrow for AMATYC about the course.  If you are a member and want to learn more, please register.  A few weeks after the webinar, the recording (audio and slides) will be available.  I'll post that to the blog as well.

Webinar information:

Title: New Pathways for Developmental Math: A Look into Mathematical Literacy for College Students

Presenter: Kathleen Almy, Rock Valley College

Description: Mathematical Literacy for College Students (MLCS) is a new course that is part of an AMATYC initiative called New Life for Developmental Math as well as the Carnegie Quantway project. It is an innovative way to redesign the developmental curriculum, providing pathways for the non-STEM student. The course uses integrated, contextual lessons to develop conceptual understanding and technology to improve mastery of skills. In one semester, a student placing into beginning algebra will gain the mathematical maturity to be successful in statistics, liberal arts math, or intermediate algebra. Reading, writing, critical thinking, and problem solving are key components to reaching that goal. Webinar participants will learn much more about the course as well as receive ideas for course development including a sample course outline and a sample lesson.

Date: April 24, 2012

Time: 3pm EDT / 2pm CDT / 1pm MDT / 12pm PDT

Committee:  Developmental Math Committee

No comments:

Post a Comment